Trust History - Timeline

1990     Ron Barclay appointed as first Trust Chair. Grants made total $161,310

1992     Two years later the amount rises to over $500,000

1994     David Walter elected as Trust Chair

1996     TSB Bank Ltd dividend to Trust exceeds $1m for the first time.  Original number of 14 Trustees reduced to 10

1997     Two large grants made: $300,000 to New Plymouth Opera House Trust and $100,000 to Bowl of Brooklands Trust

2000     Secondary schools around the region receive special technology funding

2001     TSB Bank Ltd makes special dividend payment of $1m to Trust in recognition of its 150th year

2002     Paul Butterworth named as Trust Chair. Over $4m distributed to community projects

2003     Jennifer Blyde named Trust Manager, new offices occupied, 2nd staff member employed. $750,000 grant to Taranaki Hospice

2004     Colleen Tuuta appointed as Trust Chair. Launch of innovative school literacy project for Taranaki’s young

2006     Maria Ramsay appointed as Trust Manager. Dividend from the TSB Bank Ltd reaches $7 million

2007     Rotakare Scenic Reserve Trust receives $1.25m for predator proof fencing.Taranaki Rescue Helicopter Trust receives $2m

2008     School literacy project expanded to include Numeracy. The fund is now $750,000 per annum

2009     South Taranaki Hub in Hawera receives $3m. Cancer Society granted $750,000 for a support centre. Strategic Plan adopted

2011     Hayden Wano elected as Trust Chair. $200,000 granted for Stratford health centre. Four staff employed

2012     Monthly grant rounds introduced as well as new Expression of Interest process for Grants over $50,000. Strategic plan reviewed

2013     TSB Bank dividend  reaches $11m. $4.5m committed to new children’s ward at Taranaki Base Hospital. Trust staff now 6

2014     Trust convened national Community Trust conference, co-launched The Wheelhouse and released two research reports

2015    New grants structure introduced; Operational, Capital and Programme and Event Grants. Office relocation, Trust rebrands

2015    Trust implements new Group Asset structure to manage the Trust's asset investments

2016    Trust launches online applications in February 2016 - over 80% applications completed online within first year

2016    Trust adopts a new Strategic Overview including a new Vision, and new priority of Child and Youth Well-being

2017    New Community Investment and Funding Strategy implemented including new Mounga funding framework

2017    Trust increases its ownership of Fisher Funds to become the majority shareholder with a controlling interest

2018    Proposal to change the Trust boundary approved in legislation and Deed amended